College is a Scam

As a college student, I know first hand about all the forms and applications you have to fill out in order to acquire financial help from the university you attend or from an outside organization. (Unless you’re a spoiled rich kid, in which case this post probably doesn’t apply to you.) Why is it so necessary to get financial help, you might ask? Well, it’s because college tuition is ridiculously expensive. Granted, I understand that I go to one of the most expensive schools in the country (tuition at University of Miami is $40 thousand a year), but I thought college was supposed to be a blessing, an opportunity, a stepping stone that leads to a great career and an awesome life. Instead, what it becomes is decades of debt and bad credit due to loans that need to get paid off. Knowing this, the question then becomes, is it worth it?

Tough to answer, actually. First of all, for those of you who are/have been in college, let me ask one simple question. How much do you actually learn in class?? Close to nothing, you say? See, the reason why this happens is that instead of actually absorbing the information they “teach” in the classroom, you memorize it. So what ends up happening is that after the test is over, you forget all the information as soon as you spit it back onto the test paper. So you’re not really learning anything, just memorizing to get a grade. Second question is, even if you were learning, how much of what you learn will you use after you graduate?? Close to none, you say? I never understood why they require you to fulfill prerequisites before you take on your major-required courses. I mean, if I know I want to be a journalist, why do I have to take classes like Intro to Religion and History of Rock & Roll? It’s incredulous, actually. And what makes it all even worse is that after you graduate, whether or not you’ve learned and whether or not you’ve completed applicable courses becomes irrelevant, because your degree barely insures you a career. As a matter of fact, it doesn’t even insure you a job, moreover a career. I know people with master’s degrees who are unemployed. So in the end, your college degree becomes nothing more than another credential, like being the president of the chess club or being involved with Big Brother/ Big Sister. Yep, that’s right. A 4-year, $120,000 credential.

So, what am I saying? What does this all mean?? Basically, college is a scam. College is a way for the government to take your (your parents’) hard-earned money and flush it down the toilet. Why do you think schools and companies offer scholarships? They know they’re asking for too much money. But you know what else they know? They know they can get away with it, because you have no choice. Granted, I love college. I’m not saying that I don’t want to be here. But I love it for all the wrong reasons. I like the late nights and the parties and the camaraderie shared with other classmates. But it’s not like I feel that much smarter or more learned than I did when I graduated high school, and I’m halfway done with my undergraduate studies. Knowing that I haven’t taken in that much new information and that I’m not even guaranteed a job after I leave this place is a little unnerving. Now, I wouldn’t want any high school students to read this and think that I’m condoning skipping college. Because if you do that, you’re pretty much guaranteed to not have a career. Unless, of course, you have aspirations of being the next floor manager at Linens ‘N Things. Then I’d say, screw college. For everyone else, I’m basically saying, you’re officially screwed. You won’t learn much in college, but you have no way of making it in this country without a degree. So, you have to go to college, you have to blow your parents’ money, and you have to do some serious brown-nosing in the process in order to have the connections to possibly get you a job in the future. Good luck.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “College is a Scam”

  1. Ben Says:

    It’s actually much cheaper (and equally effective in getting a job) to just *say* you graduated from such and such a college. Just make sure the college actually exists–dont say you graduated from “Harvard Extension School of Philanthropy for Whinos.”

    I actually *did* go to college, and enjoyed my time there, and did learn a great deal. It’s a small school, so it actually involves learning, not regurgitation. That said, I’m 99% sure that 100% of my past and present employer didn’t ring them up to make sure I was telling the truth. Besides, if you do happen to get caught, just go dupe someone else. If your previous employer didnt catch on for a couple years (meaning you now have to explain the hole in your resume), just change the name of the company to something else, and their phone number to your own or a close friends. That way, when they do the background check, you’re covered.–>


Leave a Reply

